Daily Prompt – Key Takeaway

Give your newer sisters and brothers-in-wordpress one piece of advice based on your experiences blogging.

I’ve been blogging since 2009. I’ve had several blogs along the way. I still have them but don’t post on most of them. They were projects for specific purposes, and I keep them as a reference. I’ve learned quite a few things along the way. I’m afraid that one piece of advice won’t cut it, so here are a few things that I’ve learned.

Don’t be afraid to use the private for password feature. Not everybody needs to know all your business. It could come back to bite you in the ass. Trust me, I learned the hard way. After you write your fabulous blog post, sit on it for a while. Don’t push the publish button right away. Make sure that you really want people to see it. Especially, if you talk about somebody who might read it. People Google themselves. Somebody that you knew 20 years ago is going to find that one denigrating sentence about themself. The one that you wrote and didn’t even give a second thought too. And then, they’re going to read you the riot act in the comments. So yeah, really proofread your stuff and make sure that you’re prepared for any grief that may come your way.

If everybody is going to see your post, try to be logical in your arguments. Otherwise, you just look like a big buffoon.

If you’re going to post pictures, make sure that there are no house numbers or street maps that lead directly to your front door. There are crazy people out there. This is not day one of the Internet, so most people should know not to do that. But guess what, they still do.

It’s okay to have an opinion, but don’t get all drunk and use words in your post that are going to attract attention from the FBI. I am not going to use any examples, because… well, I’m trying to stay out of that database. But, I’m pretty sure that you know what they are.

If your a new blogger, my advice would be to use common sense and be safe. You can worry about the stats and followers and all that mess later.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/key-takeaway/

One thought on “Daily Prompt – Key Takeaway

Leave a Reply

